Passed!

wyntechwyntech Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I wrote my exam this morning (my first try) and passed. I took about 3.5 hours total including 1-10 minute break after 150 questions.

Here's how I studied:
  • took the official ISC2 instructor led training last year then took a break because of other commitments
  • starting in January resumed studying with the Infosec Institute's self paced training
  • Did a domain a week, watching the videos and taking notes, making flashcards
  • follow up by reading the AIO chapters, and googling anything I was still fuzzy on
  • 1-2 hours a night of studying and/or quizzes on CCCure, Transcender, Skillset and 2-4 hours a day on the weekend
  • listening to the Shon Harris audio on the way to and from work
  • Did every practice question in the new Shon Harris Exam Book (3rd edition)--it even has a question on heartbleed...
  • watched a few of the CBTnugget videos
  • skimmed Conrad's full book and read 11th hour
  • Did additional practise tests on the McGraw-Hill site and Total tester
  • Took a week off before the test to dedicate to studying
  • Read this forum for tips!
I kept track of the time I studied and it was just over 100 hours since January. As I was writing the exam I was thinking that if I failed I wouldn't have any idea what else I could study to pass. I really do think I was as prepared as I could have been so it was a relief to see the word congratulations on the result printout.

As a final thought, I know that not everyone likes the AIO, but I personally found it to be an amazing resource and it's sad that Shon Harris passed away so young. Thanks for the help Shon!

Best of luck to those of you that are writing soon!

Comments

• papadocpapadoc Member Posts: 154
    Congrats wyntech!

Sounds like a very similar plan to mine.
  • GForce75GForce75 Member Posts: 222
    wyntech wrote: »
    Hi everyone,