GCWN Self Study

berto_testerberto_tester Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
New to TE, but have been stalking for a while and really enjoy what is offered. I have looked at the majority of the forum for the information I need but no joy.

My employer will reimburse me for the GIAC exams, and I really want to take the GCWN.

Current Experience/Certs
Associates of Microsoft Networking -- Server 2003/Exchange stuff
Bachelors of Information Security 2010 Grad
Currently Pursuing a Masters in infosec Expected Grad date Aug 2015
Sec +
Linux +
CEHv8 2015
CISSP 2015
Server 2008 AD Certified 2014
Vista Certified 2010

So that is my background, I also work in the field, but opportunities for hands on are hit and miss.

I really want to challenge the GIAC GCWN, but have no idea what books to get, other than the ones provided by the SANS course.

I am in a position where I can dedicate quite a bit of time to self study, Just need to know what to study.

Thanks in advance

Comments

• berto_testerberto_tester Member Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
    This needs a bump. I find it hard to believe there isn't anyone on here that hasn't challenged the GIAC GCWN
  • veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Berto_Tester: I think there is a reason you don't hear much about the GCWN certification being challenged. It's simply not as popular as other GIAC exams, such as the GSEC and the GCIH. As a comparison, there are 36,720 GSECs. The GCWN only has 3,015 certified individuals.
    @veritas_libertas, that is legit. I am just looking to enhance my skills/knowledge in the Microsoft Security realm. And while doing so grab another cert.
    That makes sense, but I really want to add to my Windows Security toolkit, and MCSA is way to much informaiton about the servers and the tests are bloated, I dont have the experience to pass those. Any other ideas for MS security?