Using dynamic dns in lab

dmwdmw Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am just starting out on this exam and am wondering if anyone has used dyndns.org in their simulated environments. I have a vmware lab setup and I was thinking it might be possible to simulate a vpn and rras situations using dyndns. This would be pretty much like a real setup. Anyone try this or any other setups using dyndns?
Rebooting computers since 1999

Comments

• SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    A friend of mine and I set up an RRAS server for the purpose of VPN access to a network, with the help of dyndns.org. It worked just fine, but the only drawback was that it took us a couple of hours to figure out that there was no way to test if the connection truly worked unless we were actually on the other side of the internet gateway. (So make sure you test the remote connection from an actual remote location.) Other than that, there are no real problems using services like dyndns.org to set up your remote access.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn
    Free PowerShell Resources: Top PowerShell Blogs
    Free DevOps/Azure Resources: Visual Studio Dev Essentials

Let it never be said that I didn't do the very least I could do.
  • dmwdmw Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Cool. I will have to research it a little. Did you have a 2 nic server or just one. also what address did you use to access the server. Was it just the dyndns host you setup with the port # appended?
  • geekiegeekie Member Posts: 391
    I used dyndns to access my home PC via Remote Desktop from work. It worked well, especially with the dynamic update client as my ISP only supplied dynamic addresses.

Had to put a stop to it though when I got my electricity bill through. Had the shock of my life icon_redface.gif

Now looking for a free WOL solution!
    Up Next : Not sure :o
    dmw wrote: