My Security+ Experience

Rock.SteadyRock.Steady Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

This forum has been a big help to me even though I only posted a few times. I figured I'd share my experience and what worked for me and see if it potentially helps anyone.

I started studying for Security+ about two months ago and passed yesterday with an 835. I had absolutely zero experience, really zero, with security, networking and most things in general when I first began to study. So here's what I used to help me get a passing score my first try:

Darril Gibson's book - This was awesome, I read it, wrote down every exam tip, studied the hell out of port numbers and did the chapter reviews more than once, and the practice test a whole lot.

Professor Messer vids - I watched every single video on Security+ and took notes on almost every video on points I didn't understand. I had pages upon pages filled with notes after I completed all his videos. Ridiculously helpful in explaining concepts I couldn't grasp in plain text. Also good for refresher on areas of weakness before the test. I kept watching videos on PKIs and encryption right until the end.

CompTia CertMaster - I got this free with the retake bundle. I went through every module, after doing all the Professor Messer videos and finishing the Gibson book. Any areas of weakness I wrote down and focused on them. This kind of made me nervous about the test because there were certain definitions and aspects I never even heard of before tackling this. Honestly, unless you're grabbing that retake bundle like I had, I wouldn't bother with this. I think Gibson and Messer are more than enough to get you to pass. Even so though, I can't ignore it because hey I passed the test and this contributed in it's own way.