First time using fiber

phoeneousphoeneous Member Posts: 2,333 ■■■■■■■□□□
Sort of embarrassed to ask this but it's my first time using fiber and I'm not sure about a few things.

I have two WS-C2960S-48FPS-L switches that I need to connect over a distance of about 500ft. I know max length for cat5/cat6 is about 328 ft so I have to use fiber. On my 2960's I have 4 sfp ports but the media type is 1000BaseTX. Does that mean even if I connect an lc/lc + gbic connector to the sfp port that I'll still be limited to 328ft? Or can I connect a 1000Base-SX transceiver to that sfp port and connect beyond 328 ft? Any help is appreciated.

Comments

• AwesomeGarrettAwesomeGarrett Member Posts: 257
    Looks like we're going to have to change your certification status! LOL, just joshing. Gave myself a good laugh tho.

Yes, the TX is copper and still has the same limitations. You're going to need some fiber and SFP's or, external copper to fiber transceivers.

Although, if you're using TX SFP's, where do the lc connectors come in?

EDIT: Is your question whether you can connect your SX SFP's to the 2960? If so, then yes. Once you connect the SX SPF's you can run the command show inventory and you sould see the SFP's as part of the switch hardware if supported.
  • pevangelpevangel Member Posts: 342
    You can't put a GBIC in the SFP port since it won't fit. You should grab a couple of 1000BASE-SX SFPs and LC-LC multimode fiber jumper. If you have a clean jumper, then it should work fine at 500ft.
  • EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□