How Important is Network+ if i want to follow security route?

MokoenaMokoena Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Last month i passed my A+ exam, Im working as an intern at a local governement, not very much experienced as im a new graduate. after passing my A+ exam im undecided as to which certificate to do next...Ive studied the Network+ coz i had the material for it and i feel Im getting comfortable with it. should i write the N+ exam first then go for Security+? or should i should go for CCENT then CCNA Security? which route is best when i want to have a solid network and security foundation?

Comments

• novovictusnovovictus Member Posts: 192
    I think you answered the question yourself, you already have done the studies and are comfortable with the material. I would go ahead and take the test. Most people say the CCENT exams is much easier if taking it right after the Net+. Then you could do the CCNA Sec exam bypassing the ICND2 if you wanted to, and circle back to Sec+. For all intensive purposes the CCNA Sec is equivilent to the Sec+ for 8570 requirements, but is still a worth while cert.
    Working on: Doctor of Information Technology Information Assurance and Security @ Capella
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The reason people say the CCENT is much easier after the Network+ is because there is alot of overlap... My advice would be to save your money and not take the Network+ exam, get your CCENT then get your CCNA Security. The CCNA R&S is recommended too just so you have a better idea of how networks work.

Since you have already been studying for the Network+ I would recommend grabbing a CCENT/CCNA book. You will find the beginning covers alot of what you already studied.
  • nsternster Member Posts: 231