How to I go from linux user to sysadmin for starting job?

vtradervtrader Member Posts: 32 ■■□□□□□□□□
My goal is still to get into cyber security in the long run, however in the mean time I am looking to get a job as a linux admin as a starting position.
I have been using linux as my main desktop for the last several years. Done some basic admin to get the system running and troubleshooting.
Now how do I go from a desktop user level experience to sys admin?
Would a RHCSA then apply for a job be a good start?
Or carry on until I get RHCE?
I don't want to study in a book type way. I rather learn in a organic way as I have been as a desktop user.
BTW employment is more important then getting certificates for me in the short term.

Comments

• lsud00dlsud00d Member Posts: 1,571
    You don't need linux certs to get a linux sys admin job, however you have to be able to walk the walk and talk the talk. The RHCSA has good objectives outlined to doing a lot of basic sys admin tasks--I suggest starting there.
  • fuz1onfuz1on Member Posts: 961 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Yea, you just need to be able to admin big-time environments using either RHEL or CentOS. A cert doesn't prove that - only know-how. If you secure/harden your own system, you probably have what it takes and if you run your own server(s) - even better. You might want to start making separate subnets to run IPS/IDS and see what false-positives show up. That's how I really learned - hands-on, seeing the logs and finding ways to break in.
    timku.com(puter) | ProHacker.Co(nsultant) | ITaaS.Co(nstultant) | ThePenTester.net | @fuz1on
    Transmosis | http://transmosis.com | LinkedIn | https://linkedin.com/in/t1mku
    If evil be spoken of you and it be true, correct yourself, if it be a lie, laugh at it. - Epictetus
    The only real failure in life is not to be true to the best one knows. - Buddha
    If you are not willing to learn, no one can help you. If you are determined to learn, no one can stop you. - Unknown