Career in Microsoft vs Cisco (MCSE 2012 or CCNP)

Wali007Wali007 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello Guys!
I am facing some confusion in deciding whether to focus pursuing a career in System administration (MCSA/MCSE stuff) or Network engineering (Cisco stuff). I have experience in both domains. I have held positions as Help desk support, PC Technician, Desktop Support, System admin, and jr. Network Engineer. At my current job I am an IT Infrastructure Admin (one man show for all IT stuff). I currently have several IT certifications which I was lucky enough to obtain through WGU as part of my Bachelor's degree icon_cool.gif. Those certs are;
MCSA 2008/ MCTS / MCP /MTA
CCENT / CCNA
CompTIA A+/Network+/ Security+
CIW Web design Associate (which I didn't see much use of..)
I am currently trying to decide whether to go for MCSE 2012, or pursue CCNP R&S and then CCIE after some time.
I have had more exposure to server and Windows administration than Cisco routing and switching. I still time to time come across configuring and troubleshooting Cisco IOS, and I enjoy it as well. I love building gaming PC's as well, my part-time hobby icon_cool.gif.
I Need some expert advice on which track (CCNP/CCIE vs MCSE) holds more value when it comes to Salary, job outlook, career advancement and any other important factors you guys could think of. I am mostly interested in the job market within Southeast US, specifically in the Atlanta area..

I would definitely appreciate your valuable feed-back and guidance..

Thanks!

Comments

• joelsfoodjoelsfood Member Posts: 1,027 ■■■■■■□□□□