A+ certification ASAP (need help)

DangerZoneDangerZone Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone I'm a newbie to the certification world. Fresh out of college after this semester and really want some certifications to go along with my IT degree. Been told from several people that two of the big certs to first have are CCNA and A+. I figured I'd start with the A+ and was looking at an online course that starts next monday and lasts 6 weeks. Definitely in my time-frame. I know the self-study option is also available, but I feel like online classroom learning might be easier (both for me and in general).

What do ya'll think? Should I take the class? It's all online and is offered by George Mason University. Other option is self study, but I feel like I'm risking not passing the exam (right away at least) if I go that method. Unfortunately I have to make a decision soon, as the last day to register for the course is next Monday.

Comments

• successrealmsuccessrealm Member Posts: 104 ■■□□□□□□□□
    What is the cost of the online University one?

If there is ANY cost associated with that course, I'd say do it yourself. Nothing worse than hearing a professor blab on and on and on when you can get down to what you need to know, yourself. Also, do you have to wait for the class to start on a certain day/time, and be involved with BS "classwork" where all of you get involved with the course together and discuss the issues online or in forums, and.......blah blah blaaaaaah!
    Sorry for the rant, THIS is why I like WGU, btw. None of that crap involved. :D

Having said a mouthful of uselessness above, I suggest if any of that is involved, or a cost, then just buy Darill Gibson's books, and perhaps the Exam Cram book, and do some Quizlet's as well, online. It could easily be done in a month by yourself.

I "googled" it, and got this. Is this it?
    CompTIA A+

If that course is what you're doing, is it 650 dollars? icon_confused.gif: DOH!!!!

If so, NO...