Options

Newbie Question !!!!!!!!! 70-640

Fizzy123Fizzy123 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I'm new to this forum and would like to apologise if I have posted in the wrong section.

Im 33 and am trying to change my career. I have been offered a job on the basis I pass 70-640 exam within a months time.
I have been enrolled onto itacademy and find that there is far too much content to learn within this time frame. Is this not an unrealistic target ? I have never worked in IT before and finished my degree 10 years ago.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Fizz

Comments

• Options
    nsternster Member Posts: 231
    TBH one month is too short for many with no experience for the 2012 version. That one would take me 1 month when I have 2 years of working a lot with Server 2008 R2. I've heard the 2008 R2 version is easier though. Still, if you have the time and are good at studying, it isn't impossible if you have the right training material, but you need the motivation to be serious about it
  • Options
    Thanks nster.

What reading material would you recommend ? The it academy seems like an overkill on information to me.

The lady who offered me the position told me not to concentrate on the labs at all. It seems contradictory to what Ive read everywhere.
  • Options
    thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Honestly, you have nothing to lose by studying for it and taking the test. If you pass you get the job. If you don't pass you might not get that job, but with some review you could take it again, pass, and potentially get a different job.

I wouldn't focus on "if it's possible to do it", I would be focused on studying to pass it. I think having a job offer conditional on passing the test is a lot of motivation to study. If I was in that situation I would purchase a voucher, set the exam date and study my butt off.
  • Options
    cruwlcruwl Member Posts: 341 ■■□□□□□□□□