Resume Guidance

xeruanxeruan Member Posts: 146 ■■■□□□□□□□
I've been trying to read through most of the other resume threads to get a better idea of the direction I should go, but I wanted to get thoughts from others. I've received a couple of responses from jobs I've applied for (most are still pending), but I also realize that my resume could be better. I change the 'Professional Summary' slightly for each job posting (this is just a more generic form), but I've never felt like I've truly gotten it right.

I'm a recent graduate (December 2014) with very minimal experience, and since graduating I've been working on all of the certifications I have listed. I've always been interested in Information Security, specifically as a Security Analyst (much like my Student position), so any professionally-related thoughts or comments are also invited and appreciated.

I appreciate any thoughts or opinions as I am just trying to present myself in the best light possible, as well as better myself.

Comments

• srabieesrabiee Member Posts: 1,231 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The formatting isn't bad at all.

Your professional summary section is actually an objective section in disguise. The Objective section should be replaced with a competent professional summary. Objective sections are redundant and serve little purpose. I will link you to a document regarding how to write a professional summary. Google is also a good resource on this.

Regarding the Skills section, instead of listing a bunch of software, technologies, and protocols, and I would rather you expand upon this information and explain HOW you are proficient in these skills, especially in a business/enterprise environment. Ideally I would recommend that you incorporate this info into your professional experience, and then drop the skills section altogether.