Options

CCNA Study Material

abelamoralesabelamorales Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone,

I would like to compliment my security background with a networking certification focused on security. From my understanding, I need to pass the 200-120 CCNA exam as a prerequisite for the CCNA Security certification. I have searched around on the forum, but see that some of the study material out recommended is out of date. Also, I'm not interested in braindumps as I want to fully understand and be able to perform tasks - I don't agree with cheating.

1. What study material do you recommend? (videos/books/etc. - and affordable :))

2. Besides the study material, are there any other additional resources I should purchase? (routers/switches/free virtual simulation of these?)

3. Any additional suggestions?

I just took the CISSP and waiting to get my results back so need to keep my mind occupied for the next few weeks. Plus, I think as a security professional, I should understand networking much more than I do so now.

I appreciate your help in advance!

Comments

• Options
    JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    You actually only need the CCENT 100-101 as a prerequisite for CCNA:S, not the full CCNA. Depending on what you do in security, the knowledge from the CCENT alone should be more than enough networking knowledge, but if you want to go for the full CCNA, more knowledge never hurts.

I feel the best book is Todd Lammle's book. As for videos, Chris Bryant's videos on Udemy can usually be had for $10-$20 with coupons he posts in the description and various specials he runs. CBT Nuggets are more expensive but are highly rated as well. INE has the videos for about $19 I think. As for practice, Packet Tracer seems to be the go to for virtual practice.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep