GSEC preparation

NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
So, I'm hoping I get into the work study program and go to SANS event and taking the GSEC course here in Minneapolis in July. I was thinking of maybe going after the Security+ after I get my CCNA next month. I don't have a ton of experience in security area so want to prepare myself a little bit before going.

Would it beneficial to get my Security+ before the GSEC? Or do you think there is any cert that would help? I have limited Linux experience and so maybe the Linux+ would help?

Right now I'm leaning towards getting my Security+ and then getting this book below to prepare for it...

http://www.amazon.com/GSEC-Security-Essentials-Certification-Guide/dp/0071820914/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1430313352&sr=8-1&keywords=gsec

Comments

• JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    I am prepping for the GSEC now actually. I don't think you need to have your Security+ (Not worth the cost IMHO). You already have the CCENT so you should have good for the networking concepts. What I would do is just get Darrill Gibsons book and read it and make sure you have a solid grasp on the Security+ stuff, but skip the cert. As for Linux experience, again, I don't think you need the cert. Make sure you can navigate your way around and do basic tasks.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
    Next Up:​ OSCP
    Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework
  • 5ekurity5ekurity Member Posts: 346 ■■■□□□□□□□