801 exam Booked for may 25th

TonyTruong101TonyTruong101 Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey Guys,

Really need some reassurance here... So I am a local helpdesk support tech for my general contracting company who deals with construction work meaning IT isn't a hot commodity around here. I am not formally educated I just got tossed into this role and into this division that consists of an IT director and a IT Tech which is me.

My job duties are really sporadic meaning I do helpdesk work, communications and training, and also AD environment work again not formally trained... My end path I wish to end up eventually is down InfoSec. I am currently signed up for the first part of the CompTIA A+ exam as compTIA has a career path you can folllow to breach into the InfoSec world. So I brought it up to my IT director to see if the company would pay for it, but heres the thing he told me I shouldn't go and take it but I feel they're just abusing the right I'm not certified but I can still do the work just fine, all self study and whatever I needed to get done I would just go and figure it out. But I don't want to be taken advantage of as they pay me not worth what I am and I know I won't be able to even be considered for another help desk role in another company... I've been currently doing this role for 2.5 years going to 3.... and I would hate to not be able to get a job with that much experience under my belt.

So my question is: As someone in my positions is getting the CompTIA A+ a good first step to validating my experience in that role? And also would it allow me to be considered for any run of the mill Help desk job.

Comments

• H3||scr3amH3||scr3am Member Posts: 564 ■■■■□□□□□□
    TonyTruong101,