Apprehensive of the Network +, Advice?

beachlessbumbeachlessbum Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello to everyone and thanks for taking the time to read this;
I suppose i should maybe start with a little history of myself, and then jump into the topic at hand. i am preparing to take the network +. This will be My first certification in the IT field. Many have told me that attempting this cert first is unorthodox, but i am doing it because networking is what interests me, and my employer has already told they see no value to me personally in taking the A+ at this point, based on the knowledge i have demonstrated since being hired on to a helpdesk l1/l2 position just under 6 months ago. I am new to the IT field, having changed my major 5 times while in college, and then dropping out because i simply could not figure out what i wanted to be when i grew up. Well that changed when i got hired on to a helpdesk "call center" of sorts. While i am not professionally versed in IT, i love computers and tinkering, and consider myself to be "more skilled then the average bear" when it comes to understanding how thinks interact. Long story slightly less long, i have decided i want to work in IT, i love troubleshooting, finding solutions to problems others shy away from, and working in a fast paced environment, IT is the for the career for me. Why i chose networking is simple enough, I like solving puzzles, troubleshooting and finding the break in the line.