How to start up A+ EXAM

QuestionTimeQuestionTime Member Posts: 37 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys:

First of all, I really want to say the A+ Web (CompTIA) is very confussing to me, all they are talking about is just some advertising stuff - about the benefits to obtain A+ Certification. That's why I am posting a question in here.

I am currently a junior computer hardware tech and planning to get my A+ Certification (My company is cheap, they wont pay for it). However, I really get confussed by reading the CompTIA web.

Seems like CompTIA have A+ Exam for 2003 and Newly update A+ Exam 2006 (Coming soon).

1.) Can anyone give me suggestion the should I wait till end of Q306 to start A+ EXAM 2006 since its not to far to the end of Q306 ?

2.) If I am starting to study the metiarial, should I just go Chapters to grab a book to start with or purchasing some other out source company study package ? I am having concern that just buying a book/package, is that going to be enough to cover for the exam (I understood experience is also needed) ? That sucks currently the CompTIA has only metirial cover for Objective 2003 but not 2006
(*PS: I would perfer self study, I believe it saves some $ then go take a course).

3.) Pricing - CompTIA A+ $153.00 (US) / If the A+ Exam 2006 out, you have to take 2 exam in order to obtain the ceritification. That's sounds like doubling the price. Isnt it ?

4.) If I need to register the exam, do I need to purchase a Voucher ? I totally have no idea what a Voucher is and they come with differece pricing too. COMPTIA A+® PROMETRIC / COMPTIA A+® VUE Voucher / CompTIA A+: Core Hardware Technologies (2003 Objectives) : CompTIA Press Edition / CompTIA A+: OS Technologies (2003 Objectives) : CompTIA Press Edition.
Is that a package of study material or a card that you can bring it to where exam center to write you A+ exam ?

Please feel free to drop your comment or answer.

Much appericated to everyone.

Thank you.