Computer Forensic certs that don't expire?

010101010101 Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
Are there any good computer forensic certs that don't expire and have to be renewed every 2-3 years?
I want something like the CISSP where once you have it, you have it. I don't mind getting some CPE, but having to study for a test every 2-3 years is too much.

Anyone know of some decent ones?

Thanks

Comments

• NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Only thing I could think of that doesn't expire would be a Bachelors or Masters degree
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    GCFx, CCFP, CHFI, CCE, CSFA, and most other forensics certs offer a CPE or equivalent path. Some are harder or more expensive to complete than others but most do not require retesting. Having said that, why do you want a forensics cert? Is it a work requirement or a personal thing?
  • 010101010101 Member Posts: 68 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks. It's a work thing. I've been doing forensics for 15 years for legal cases, but it makes up maybe 1% of my job.
    98% of my job is internal networking, and 1% is pentesting. I do between 1-4 forensic cases a year on average.

The partner I report to for forensics wants me to have a forensics cert in case I have to go to trial and testify. I see his point, but I want to just get it done and put it behind me. It's not like this is my 40 hour a week gig, it's probably 40 hours a year. And I really don't think I would ever want to transition to doing forensics full time.

So really, I want the easiest cert with the least maintenance, that's not complete BS.

He wants the EnCE, but I think that's not the easiest cert...
    I see your point. Well, you said no BS so that disqualifies the CHFI. Forgot to ask, who is paying for this?
  • 5ekurity5ekurity Member Posts: 346 ■■■□□□□□□□