Vadim's CCIE Journey

downwithbgpdownwithbgp Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

After reading a few threads here, I decided to join the club and take a methodical approach to the certification.

In early 2013, I started studying networking. Odom's guides, Jeremy's videos, and a load of Packet Pushers podcasts. It took me until that Christmas to build up the confidence and in January 2014 I earned CCNA. Shortly thereafter, I branched out and got a Brocade certification. The position I had at the time could not fulfill my ambitions, so I left. I had some savings, quit the job and started job hunting full-time. My goal was a NOC position anywhere in the country. After 4 months, I found a perfect job, ironically only a few miles away from my house.

At this point, I had been with the NOC for 3 months and consider myself settled here. I love the variety of technologies and topologies I get to work with every day, and I constantly earn something new. This is the very exposure I was aiming for in the first place, and I feel that it's giving me the perfect foundation to kick off my very own CCIE journey.

Now, let's be reasonable. I know I'm not a CCNP with a fancy NetEng job at a Fortune500 company. So, I don't have that much experience. But, just like in any other NOC, I have lots of downtime.

The plan is to put 2000 hours of studying in the next 2 years. 700 reading + 1300 labbing seems like a good target. I want to try to put at least 300 hours of reading in the first 6 months, take (and hopefully pass) the Written, then concentrate on labbing with reading books/guides/RFCs, optionally attend a bootcamp, then take the lab in Mid-2016, probably get crushed, take all the PTO I can, run out of it, quit life for half a year, attempt the lab again in early 2017.