VMWare Guru's - Suggestions on how to do this on a home lab level?

BlackBeretBlackBeret Member Posts: 683 ■■■■■□□□□□
This isn't certification related, but I know there are a lot of VMware guy's on here that could answer this in their sleep. If there's a study path that would put me on the right track for VMware security, ESXi plus whatever suggestions you guys have for my problem below, I'd be interested in it as well. Everything's going to virtualization and I need to learn it.

Where I'm not now - I'm completely new to VMWare's product lineup and from what I'm reading a lot of things overlap but have different overall functions. I've been running my home lab on an Ubuntu server setup with Virtual Box running about 6 VM's. I decided I wanted to make a change, learn vmware, and rebuild my lab to be more enterprise like by installing a virtual firewall, security monitoring software, etc. The easiest way at the time to do this seemed to be by replacing my Ubuntu server with ESXi. Due to compatibility issues with my onboard NIC I'm using 5.1 instead of 6. I managed to get this all converted over, install the vsphere client, and I'm learning how to configure the networking within ESXi and the firewall (pfsense) in order to route the traffic the way I want.

When I was running everything on the Ubuntu server I managed it all locally, ran my VM's locally, etc. It was nice and easy. What I didn't realize when converting over (didn't research enough) was that you can't manage ESXi and run the VM's locally.The remote management with VSphere is okay now that I'm learning it. It's much more powerful than Virtual Box is and I like that, although it kills the user friendliness. The issue I'm having is with the speed and display of the VM's across the network. While the majority of the VM's running on the server are fine for back-end things, there were 3 that I was planning to use as desktops for different purposes.