Same scenario different person. (Career Guidance)

KyriusKyrius Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Like most here, I've been looking at the forums and very much liking what I see here, and even after this post hope to become active in this community. You all seem like a pretty good bunch, all with insightful knowledge.

That being said, (along with the title), same scenario different person.

Currently, I'm working towards my associates degree, I'm still in my early twenties, and think I'm a little lost in terms of direction. I currently hold a position as a Break/Fix repair technician at a store and I've held that for about a year. I have A+/Net+, pretty good writing and communication skills as I've been told, and have an interest in System Administration. My degree is for System Admin and I can wait to finish my degree, but I feel like I'd like to try getting an MCSA, and going full-time as help desk at a corporate company or maybe something now for the fact of wanting more experience now at a young age, but any who, thoughts?

(Sorry, if that all sounds confusing, I can clarify things if need be.)

Comments

• cshkurucshkuru Member Posts: 246 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I am in my 50s and got my first full time job at 13 moved into the tech industry as a Test Engineer in the late 90s and have jumped back and forth into help desk, network admin, regulatory compliance and testing.

The background is to just provide some basis for where my observations are coming from.

My experience has been that despite how much people talk about it being a meritocracy and "what you can do not what paper you have" that just isn't true. That degree will mean a great deal. When crunch time comes and they need to make layoffs guys without degrees will be the first too go. When it's time for a promotion a lot of times the degree will be the deciding factor. I got by for a lot of years without one but my life would have been much easier if I had had it.