LPI Linux Essentials - 22 May 15

jvrlopezjvrlopez Member Posts: 913 ■■■■□□□□□□
So I decided to sit this little 40 question, 1 hour test. Apparently it is not a certification but a certificate of completion. The test seems straight forward and the objectives look pretty basic. I got the Tracy All in One Exam Guide and will skim through it over the next week. I have been using Linux off and on for the past 5 years (heavily for the past 18 months) and feel that I should be alright come test time. I haven't seen much posting on this certificate so I figured I would let everyone know how the studying and test go. There are a few reasons as to why I'm going for this low hanging fruit as opposed to LPIC-1/2 or Linux +. First, I just finished by BA in Comm Studies and am pretty bored now that I don't have any homework when I get out of the office. Also, I've seen a disturbing trend in the local IT community with individuals stating they have experience in Linux but do not have any skills to back it up. A resume I saw noted "15 years of Linux experience" but the individual couldn't name their preferred Linux text editor during the interview... Going for this would be a quick way to keep my focus and have something tangible for the time being to show what I profess... Will let you all know how it goes!
And so you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high. ~Ayrton Senna

Comments

• tmcgtmcg Banned Posts: 127
    Someone with your skill set and Linux Knowledge should blow this out of the water. The test was trickier than I expected and at least 3 people in my class failed because they underestimated the exam. (One of whom had a degree in programming). Make sure you know something about video players on Ubuntu etc some random questions appear. I found it helpful as I had zero previous experience with Linux.