Passed: Wireshark Certified Network Analyst (WCNA)

LaunchpadLaunchpad Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
Passed the exam earlier this week!

A little background on me... I'm a recent grad with a bachelors degree in a business/IT field, and have roughly 2 years IT experience all of which has been service desk type duties. My only cert prior to this was Security+.

I had very little knowledge of protocols and network analysis when I started studying, so the bulk of my knowledge came from the materials I used to self-study (along with some Googling when I came across something in the text that I didn't recognize).

The books I used in order:
Practical Packet Analysis: Using Wireshark to Solve Real-World Network Problems by Chris Sanders
Wireshark Network Analysis (Second Edition): The Official Wireshark Certified Network Analyst Study Guide by Laura Chappell
Wireshark Certified Network Analyst Exam Prep Guide (Second Edition) by Laura Chappell

The study guide goes a lot more in-depth than what is required for the exam, which isn't a bad thing--especially since I expect to use it as a reference moving forward. The questions on the exam were very similar to those in the exam prep guide.

Overall I learned A LOT from the studying, and I've already found the knowledge gained to be useful at work. Not to mention it's been pretty fun diagnosing network problems and performance issues that were thoroughly confusing even our network infrastructure guy!

Comments

• danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Wow congrats! Great job, was the exam tough? How long did you study for?
    I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None
  • DeathmageDeathmage Banned Posts: 2,496
    Congrats, I'm intrigued as to it's difficulty and where you go to take the exam? - I use wireshark all the time but never knew there was a certification!!!!
  • LaunchpadLaunchpad Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks guys!