Certification Route MCSA or A+

wilsonjn01wilsonjn01 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
--My name is Jerome and I sort of new to IT. I currently work for the City University of New York at a Help Desk or Service Desk assisting faculty, staff and student with numerous technical issues. This is "NOT" hands on and it is "NOT' really all that technical. It's just basic Help Desk dealing with educational systems, ticket escalation, phone support, etc. I currently do "NOT" have any tech certifications under my belt and I am looking to see specifically what certs will get me in the door with the more technical role that I want. I have my degree in CIS at SUNY BUffalo, and I have worked at the school doing Help Desk for about 1.5 years.

-- I am looking to get into more of a (Desktop Support/ Systems) position. I have been really confused on where to start, Comptia A+, MCSA 8.1 or MCSA Server. I am interested in all but I dont want to waste my time nor the money, so I am looking to see which of these will work for me. I need some input on what the right step would be here.

Comments

• markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If you have the technical ability to jump right into a MCSA, by all means go for that. Either MCSA will be WAY better than an A+ and around the same cost (MSCA Windows 8 is actually cheaper I think). Reason people go with the A+ is because it's an easier certification and not everyone can take those mid-level certs.
  • wilsonjn01wilsonjn01 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□