The good ol' days

TheStoddemeisterTheStoddemeister Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Anybody know if Text Adventures are still available? Or even if they are in-production? I am learning Python and came up with the idea from my old days of 'you are likely to be eaten by a Grue'. Especially with the 'retro' trend in gaming, who here would like to see more of our old command-line games back in action? I wouldn't mind typing away for the sake of saving a princess.

Comments

• dsgmdsgm Member Posts: 228 ■■■□□□□□□□
    (Insert cricket sounds here)
  • dsgmdsgm Member Posts: 228 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Just kidding, unfortunately i have never experienced such a game, when i started playing video games i only had a nintendo and never touched a PC till yrs after that, i do remember turbo graphix 16 though
  • MowMow Member Posts: 445 ■■■■□□□□□□
  • kohr-ahkohr-ah Member Posts: 1,277
    I dont know about text adventure games but maybe to help learn see if any MUDs still exist.
    MUD - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

This would be a great way to learn and still do your text based adventures.
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Zork haaaaa

My mother and father are programmers and all their friends are were programmers back in the 80's. I would go over to these parties and they would plop me in front of their 386 with a vga graphics card and go to town. That was so much fun! I remember all those games, I was geeked out on Mech Wars!
  • TheStoddemeisterTheStoddemeister Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks! I have heard of these, but never really looked into them. I will definitely take some time to check into them now. Maybe even look into how to make them, it sounds really cool.
  • tpatt100tpatt100 Member Posts: 2,991 ■■■■■■■■■□