Right path to get CCNA?

stark4stark4 Member Posts: 11 ■■■□□□□□□□
My goal is to become a network engineer with CCIE in the future but can you guys please advice me on how to get there? My background is.. I graduated with Economics and i don't have any IT Experience yet. I always want to work around computers and I decided that networking is where i want to be. After reading though the forum.. i noticed that i have to get Help Desk type job to get entry level experience first. I searched on job boards and a lot entry level help desk jobs required A+ Certificate.

So should i get CompTIA A+ Cert first then start looking for help desk job? Then study for CCNA? It would be nice if you can give me step by step advice on what I should do.

I know it's long long way for me to get to CCIE but i believe that i'll get there one day.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Comments

• NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I think that would be a good path.
  • TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Skip A+, go for Network + and at the same time study for CCNA. A+ really has no value to a networking type role. Also Network+ will help you land a Help desk job too.
  • snunez889snunez889 Member Posts: 238 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The best advice I can give you is to take your time with it. Dont just get it to get it, sit down and really learn the material. I would start with network+, then focus on the CCNA.

I kinda rushed when I got my CCNA because I wanted it to get a job and I quickly forgot most of the stuff I learned. I am taking a four part class geared toward CCNA and I am really learning more then I ever did just rushing through the CCNA.
    I think the A+ will help more to get a first job, and then I would skip the Net+ and just go the CCENT/CCNA route... Just my opinion though :) Might be beneficial to look over the Net+ topics but I don't see it having much ROI.
  • markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□