NOC Interview

fitzybhoyfitzybhoy Member Posts: 60 ■■■□□□□□□□
Got an interview with HP for a NOC position. Although I have a degree in networking I've never actually held a networking position before and have had difficulty obtaining interviews for network positions.

I would appreciate tips, questions,scenarios etc. that might be asked for this type of position.

I currently do app support and have interviewed for HP before for this type of position. Unfortunately, the position was pulled due to funding and it went no further.
I was surprised at how laid-back the interview was, although, googling HP interviews, interview experience differs from candidate to candidate, with ranging from my own laid-back experience to uptight and very measured/controlled technique.
I'm thinking that they may focus on the topics on my CV, which I'm entirely comfortable with, I tend not to lie/exaggerate on my resume.
What I struggle with is scenarios; what would you do if...
Can someone offer up this type of question that they have been asked and how they answered it.

Comments

• DAVIS NGUYENDAVIS NGUYEN Member Posts: 1,472 ■■■□□□□□□□
  • Kinet1cKinet1c Member Posts: 604 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'd imagine it will come down to how you manage alerts/calls, common port numbers, basic network troubleshooting (ping, traceroute, netstat etc.) and maybe some of the more generic stuff like "what would you do if..."
    2018 Goals - Learn all the Hashicorp products

Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity
  • Kai123Kai123 Member Posts: 364 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Out of curiosity, what kind of access technology does the roll cover and what were the job specs? I could chime in from an ISP NOC role perspective but it might be very different depending on what your doing and monitoring.
  • slee335slee335 Member Posts: 124