Options

staffing companies, anyone has experiences with this?

TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
i send some resumes out during the weekend, today i recevied a call from a staffing company, they have a position to fill for cablevision they told me. Its a help desk support position, phone calls, troubleshooting systems and the like.

Now i have no experience at all, have never actually worked for a company or have any experience in the field whatsoever. everything i know is thru my own experience, reading, school and stuff like that.

So anyway, they asked me to go there for a more detailed interview. what should i expect? they asked me what i want my salary requirments are, and i told them $11-$12. is that good or did i mess up? Need some advice on how actually these staffing bussines works. Help me out please lol i really need to find a job.

Comments

• Options
    OlajuwonOlajuwon Inactive Imported Users Posts: 356
    $11-12 might be a lot to you if you're young living with your parents, never held a real job before. Go for it if the wage is enough to support your lifestyle. Plus you need some real world experience; right?

Word of wisdom is to never tell employers how much you want to be paid until they tell the range they're looking to pay in. Keep that in mind and don't make the same mistake again.
    "And in the end, it's not the years in your life that count. It's the life in your years"
  • Options
    DirtySouthDirtySouth Member Posts: 314 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I've worked with staffing agents in the past and they can be quite helpful. The only warning that I would give you is to remember that most staffing agents are only concerned about getting you into a job so they can collect their commission. As a result, they may or may not sugar-coat a job for you just to get you into it. So, if possible get all your important details and information from the employer directly and take what the recruiter has to say with a grain of salt.