Career Advancement with CompTia Certifications? Time is a factor

happyend98happyend98 Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
Would like some input on job changes or career advancement with acquiring CompTia certs. Do any of you feel since these are vendor neutral and generic in nature will help someone looking to make a job role or career change in particular if you already work in IT. Have some experience but wanting to advance to an area related to but several steps "knowledge" wise over what I currently do.
Current Job: Client Access Mgmnt(Security related job title) for a IT company that is transitioning to new ownership and possible new areas will be opening up due to the scope of rebuilding the business.

Future Job Interest: Threat Analysis, Systems Security Analyst etc etc type titles

Appreciate any input as i am currently studying for CompTia Sec+ but don't want to waste valuable time if this may not serve me well in where i want to go???

~Ken

Comments

• N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Ken - Not a security guy but I would consider the CISSP.

Just curious do you have 5 years of access control? Is that enough to sit and obtain the CISSP?
  • SephStormSephStorm Member Posts: 1,731 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Despite what people say, not having the CISSP will not cripple your career, and IMM could limit it.

Your interest is defensive, you need defensive security certs paired with offensive security certs. CEH, OSCP, paired with GCIA would be a good combination.
  • happyend98happyend98 Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks N2IT...my job role falls under Security Administration. Actually was with the help desk for there for just over a year and have been with the access control team just over 3 years now. I guess I would qualify for the SSCP but not the CISSP at this time. I keep getting told CISSP is overrated for what type of advancement I want due to it being more administrative security from management side etc? Not sure though.