Options

CCNA and then what?

SimridSimrid Member Posts: 327
Hi everyone,

I am currently studying for a CCNA and I have completed my CCENT. I'm not sure what to do after, I know I need to focus on the single exam ahead but I want to set some goals. At first I thought i'd like to be a network engineer and in CCENT I was super motivated, but now....Not so motivated.

Is it worth going down the Microsoft route as well as Cisco too? Is there jobs which will require both? Is it worth the effort or should I stick to one vendor?

My thoughts are to go CCNA > MCSA > CCNP > MCSE. Would this work and be worth?

To add to this, should I start studying for the MCSA at the same time as my CCNA? OR Linux? Redhat etc?

Confused and need direction....

Thanks all,

Simrid
Network Engineer | London, UK | Currently working on: CCIE Routing & Switching

sriddle.co.uk
uk.linkedin.com/in/simonriddle

Comments

• Options
    srabieesrabiee Member Posts: 1,231 ■■■■■■■■□□
    MCSE is going pretty deep into Microsoft technologies. Are you interested in performing regular system administration and system engineering duties? If you truly want to focus on network engineering, I would focus on the CCNP path and not put much effort into Microsoft certs at this time.

I guess the real question is, what path are you most interested in? If you want to be a sysadmin JOAT, then do both.
    WGU Progress: Master of Science - Information Technology Management (Start Date: February 1, 2015)
    Completed: LYT2, TFT2, JIT2, MCT2, LZT2, SJT2 (17 CU's)
    Required: FXT2, MAT2, MBT2, C391, C392 (13 CU's)

Bachelor of Science - Information Technology Network Design & Management (WGU - Completed August 2014)
  • Options
    SimridSimrid Member Posts: 327