ITIL Foundation - Passed. What Next, please help?

shazzy247shazzy247 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I passed my ITIL foundation of the weekend after 2 weeks of study. I used CBT Nuggets, Mind Maps on ITIL Training Zone and Passing your ITIL foundation Exam by Christian F Nissen.

I am currently working for a VoIP provider as a team leader within our service desk, providing technical support to external customers and managing a team. I have been doing technical support for approx 5 years now, and previous to that I was an account manager for 3 years for an ISP.

I thoroughly enjoy improving processes and making things better within my Dept, which led me to ITIL, which I really enjoyed. After studying completing this course I have now realised that my next career move is definitely in ITSM, either ST or SO. I would love to work for a large corporate, as the company I work for is small and very reluctant to change and have limited re-sources. I think a role in either change management or a service desk analyst would be amazing!

This leads me to my questions.

1. I was thinking of doing PRINCE2 foundation to learn the basic concepts of PM, coupled with ITIL, I thought would make a strong combination?

2. OR go on to ITIL SO instead and not worry about PRINCE2?

3. OR, don't pursue any more certs and start job hunting for a role in ITSM, and maybe do more ITIL certs then?

Thank you for taking the time to read my post and I thank you in advance for your reply.

Regards,
shazzy247

Comments

• Claire AgutterClaire Agutter Member Posts: 772 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Hi shazzy

The best answer to your question will come from recruiters - have a look at the type of jobs you want and see what certs they are asking for. As you're looking to move to an ITSM role I would think ST or SO would be better for you than PRINCE2, as you've not mentioned wanting to do project management.