CCENT/CCNA or CompTIA Security+

Armitron77Armitron77 Member Posts: 134 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am looking for advice in terms of either going for the CCENT/CCNA first, than get the CompTIA Security+ certification after obtaining my Network+. A friend of mine told me to go for the CCENT/CCNA first because I am studying for the Network+ certification. It will be better due to the fact that it will be fresh on my mine. He stated after getting the CCENT/CCNA, than I should get the Security+ certification. I am highly interested in both certifications. I thought I should get the Security+ certification and than the CCENT/CCNA. However, after listening to my friend, it actually makes sense. What do you think? All advice is welcomed.
Bachelor of Science Degree in Computer & Network Security
Associate in Applied Science Degree in Network Management
Associate in Applied Science Degree in Network Management/Cyber Security
CompTIA A+ Certified | CE, CompTIA Network+ Certified | CE

2016 Goals: CCENT/CCNA Routing & Switching COLOR=#008000][B]IN PROGRESS[/B][/COLOR/CompTIA Security+ COLOR=#008000][B]IN PROGRESS[/B][/COLOR

Comments

• volfkhatvolfkhat Member Posts: 1,046 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Networking and Security and two different entities.
    Yes, one can argue that they go hand-in-hand... but imo, you need to choose ONE.

Personally, i agree with your friend. go for the ccent.
    In fact, the net+ and ccent can be studied Together. I spent 3-4 weeks studying the N10-005, and then i started studying for the CCENT. they complement each other quite well.

The Sec+ is garbage. i Would NOT spend any effort trying to get the certification. (Okay... Not Garbage... but NOT much value).
    If you "think" you want to eventually learn about Security stuff.. then get your CCNA-SECURITY later.

Leave the Sec+ alone (for now); NOT worth the effort.
    (UNLESS, your job is Making you get it. OR, you have No Experience, and potential Jobs demand that you have it in order to Apply)