Advice

harlyonharlyon Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
i am a newbie who is interested in changing career.i am interested in the help desk role and was advised by a few persons that i wont make good bucks from it.i really like that path.
what advice can i get from this forum on the help desk path.,can i switch on to other roles later?
what exams should i do
i need guidance guys

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    You won't get rich, that's for sure. What do you consider "good bucks"?
  • E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,228 ■■■■■■■■■■
    No big bucks in the help desk role, but it is a stepping stone to big bucks later on.
    Alphabet soup from (ISC)2, ISACA, GIAC, EC-Council, Microsoft, ITIL, Cisco, Scrum, CompTIA, AWS
  • kurosaki00kurosaki00 Member Posts: 973
    You're interested in help desk? what? Whats going on in here...
    meh
  • BlackBeretBlackBeret Member Posts: 683 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Well if that's what you like, go for it. You wont get rich on the help desk, but it's considered the entry level for any IT job, so you can figure out what you like and move up from there if you want. What is it about the help desk that you like, system troubleshooting, working with people, etc?
  • Codeman6669Codeman6669 Member Posts: 227
    You wont make a lot of money starting out, but give yourself some time to build experience and get some certifications and the IT field has a very high ceiling for income depending which direction you go. But you gotta earn your way there, and experience is really a huge part of it.

Oh also, if your a personable person to work with while network/computer problems are occurring then you will go much further then the person that gets mad when things don't work. If you don't enjoy having problems (network/pc) then this isn't for you. But if you view it as a challenge, and a opportunity to learn something, then get on the certs, and start making yourself a valuable asset