Options

Infosec Guidance

Fullmetal_DilkaFullmetal_Dilka Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I really want to get into cyber security but I feel VERY overwhelmed. I am very good at researching which is great and all but I also am very good at psyhing myself out from it which leads to frustration, depression, and ultimately giving up.

I have an associates degree and understand it means VERY little, and plan on buying a prep kit from ********.com for Security+, I have gravitated towards wanting to be a penetration tester. With little wiggle room financially I really want to do things right and not burn money and time on wrong skills...where do I start to make this work?

I don't have anyone to turn to for guidance so any help would be a huge relief.

Comments

• Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Put your research skills to work and start researching. Certifications are good place to start. I am of the mind frame that a pen tester needs to have deep understanding of many different technologies and use the best for the job. As such you need to learn to use different tools, pentesting tools and the like. You need to be good in networking and on software systems and you always need to keep your eye on new vulnerabilities and flaws.

If as you say you get easily frustrated and depressed from not seeing progress then maybe you should start with something different than pen testing.

Not everyone has a nack for pentesting and security, some people just get infosec and others do not.
  • Options
    BlackBeretBlackBeret Member Posts: 683 ■■■■■□□□□□
    tldr; Check the job boards and see what you need for your local market and interests.