Options

Renewing CompTIA - Network+ and Security +

rolando3321rolando3321 Member Posts: 36 ■■□□□□□□□□
Background:
earned Network + in 2012
earned Security + in 2013 (took syn-301)

Both certs will expire July, 2016.
(I know renewing the Security+ will do the Network+, so I will only refer to renewing the Security +)

For the time being I want to keep both certifications for my resume (even thou they have not helped me with getting a job)

Currently I'm not in a position with security as a focus. I just finished my Bachelors in Technology Management last December and I have 3 years of computer repair experience at a Ma and Pa computer repair shop. In April I got into a county position as a IT/S Technician (Intelligent Transport Systems), so I'm gaining wireless network experience. My long term goal would be getting into IT networking/servers.

I called a rep from CompTIA and she said that I can renew my Security+ by taking either the Security+ 401 exam or the Storage+ exam. At this time I'm not looking to do CCNA or anything to that nature. I just want to get my current certifications renewed and focus on improving my knowledge and skills from work experience; as oppose to getting a bunch of certs where I'm not practicing in daily applications.

Choice A:
The Storage+ cert would give me something else to add to my resume. (even thou I just made the statement that I wanted to avoid this.) However, I think the experience of reading and learning Storage would stick with me better than CCNA ect. So I'm more willing to earn this cert.

Choice B:
Taking the Security+401 would be a good refresher for me, since I have low exposure to IT security in the work environment.

A few other thoughts: