MCSE 2012 + Lab

teknologikalteknologikal Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Folks

So I just upgraded some hardware on my lab workstation. Its got more than enough power to run what I need!
Installed VMware Workstation. P2V one of my 2012 servers from the office, Also, P2V my W7 machine from the office.
I will have a total of 3 Windows 2012 servers + 1 Windows 7, 1 Windows 8, and 1 Windows 10 VMs (May be XP for shits and giggles)
Host is Windows 8, i7, 16G-Ram, with 256 SSD for the OS and a 2TB HDDs (Western Digital, I think) to host the VMs.

I am fairly new to setting up a lab in a virtual environment so I just need some suggestions\advice =)
1. Does the set up look like its enough for a good lab: Specs, numbers of VMs, anything else?
2. Do I just clone the 2012 server I already have for the rest of the lab or do I need to create a new server for each instance? I remember something about either that or having to sysprep it? If someone could kind of explain this, I would appreciate it
3. I understand that I need to put he lab on a different lan. So with physical labs, I just used to put the lab network on a different router and it would have it own network and I could test the crap of out of it without having to mess up my home network and god forbid interrupt my wife's TMZ time. How do I do this on VMware Workstation? From what I understand I can set up a "virtual router". How would I go about doing that? I know there are some virtual routers from Vyatta for these types of labs, but I don't really understand how to set it up. Are these just virtual appliances like on a regular ESXi environment?

Anyway, if someone can help out with this, I would really appreciate it. Especially the virtual router part to separate the network from the lab network. A simple, but detailed explanation would be really helpful as I am not exactly sure I understand how to do this in the virtual environment!

Thank you very, very much in advance!

Comments