Options

what certs to get within one year

TommyTTommyT Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello I am new in the I.T world. I only have one year left on my G.I Bill and was wondering what are some certifications I can get in the next year to be able to be marketable in getting a job. I would consider myself a rookie to I.T but i have taken a real interest in computer in the last six months and want to follow it in my new career. Any schools or certs someone can recommend i would really appreciate it. thanks

Comments

• Options
    636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I'd avoid security. Yes, you can get an entry-level cert like Security+, but to be any good at security you really need to have a wide breadth of knowledge for all things IT. My recommendation would be to stick to the trusty old Microsoft certs involving Server to develop a good "base" and then figure out where you want to get more in-depth (Exchange, Virtualization, Networking, etc). Nothing says I'm right, so others can share their thoughts.
  • Options
    What are some good schools. I read good and bad things about CompTIA, InfoSec institute I am not sure which schooling to use and being that i only have one year of G.I Bill money i want to make sure its not wasted. thanks
  • Options
    BlackBeretBlackBeret Member Posts: 683 ■■■■■□□□□□
    First, you need to figure out what your GI Bill will pay for. Post 9/11 doesn't pay for certification training courses, they only pay for certification exams, and each one will take a month off of your GI Bill, assuming it's under $2000 (most are). Licensing and Certification - Education and Training

Now there are some schools and other VA programs that work well for tech training. I'll see if I can find some and compile them here.
  • Options
    Thanks BlackBeret I would really appreciate that. Is ITT Tech any good?
  • Options