some questions about pay rate with A+ cert

zenzenzenzen Member Posts: 69 ■■□□□□□□□□
ok, right now I work at a grocery store(yeah it really sucks) and my pay is 10.50/hr(also sucks lol)

I have built probably 6 or 7 computers for myself and friends/family etc, and am basically addicted to computing. I figure I should start to actually make an effort to get into the IT world because I can't think of any other type of job I even have the possibility of enjoying. I know that there is a lot more to building/troubleshooting than plugging up ram etc, and I'm studying as much as I can to basically get out of the work hell I am in and into a lesser evil.

One draw for me is the certification system. I will be honest, I hate school. I don't learn anything unless I'm doing it myself. I want to be a professional while not having to put up with school, it just isn't for me.
I've been reading posts saying that techs etc and people with A+ are getting hired for 8-9 dollars/hr? How can I pick stuff up and put it on a shelf and get more, I don't think I could survive on just 8 dollars/hr.