question on certifications vs. experience for job search

letsgetitonletsgetiton Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
im new to this and have decided to take several certs in an effort to go from a well paying construction job to a well paying IT job. First My MCDST then on to the MCSA finally an MCSE, one problem, i dont want to give up a well paying job ($32 an hour) to go start a new career at a crap level. Im planning on waiting to go job seeking when ive completed all three certs. icon_confused.gif: Q: Will I be able to find a well paying job with those three certs and no hands on experience in the field other than personal experience? icon_confused.gif: Q: Can anyone recommend a better route? icon_confused.gif

Comments

• bighornsheepbighornsheep Member Posts: 1,506
    Do you like IT? How much experience do you have with computers at all? If the only reason you want to switch to IT is because of the potentially higher income, you're probably going a wrong route. Depending on what city you live in, I think construction will give you more money in the pocket. Especially for the early part in your IT career.

MCDST, MCSA, and MCSE are requirements for jobs, you can have 3 or 4 MCSE and have no job. The bottom facts is still true regardless of what field you're in, if you have no experience at all, it's not going to be an easy time getting a job.

I'm sure it's the same in construction, nobody would want to hire anyone who doesnt have experience. Regardless of how much they claim their know from their certifications.

Cheers,
    Jack of all trades, master of none
  • letsgetitonletsgetiton Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□