Options

WGU MS:ISA grads and students, any regrets?

Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
A little background, I have 14 years in IT now, I have a BS in IT:Security from WGU already. I like the WGU model, I was able to knock out almost 3 years of credits in 1 year with a lot of IT experience and busting my rear. I'm currently a contractor in security for large company that wants to hire me as FTE before the end of the year, when that happens I should get tuition reimbursement. I believe it's approx 6K a year max.

One of my coworkers went to WGU too, he was doing it before I started here, he had a less than great experience. He's been hassling me about looking at different schools because he didn't like WGU. That wouldn't stop me from going there but I thought I'd check here if there are others who have done the MS security program at WGU and felt like they would have been better off going another route.

I'm working on a SANS on demand course right now, I'd like to knock out my CISSP before I'd start grad school. I'm probably grossly overthinking all this as I doubt what school I got an MS from would make a huge impact on my career all things considered. My wife is currently in school, so I want more student loans like a hole in the head, since WGU would fit right in my tuition amounts and I'd imagine somewhere else, DSU, etc, wouldn't, that should answer most of it right there.

So, any feedback?
Thanks.

Comments

• Options
    BlackoutBlackout Member Posts: 512 ■■■■□□□□□□
    My Father had a pretty bad experience with WGU working on his Masters and ended up abandoning his masters there.
    Current Certification Path: CCNA, CCNP Security, CCDA, CCIE Security

"Practice doesn't make perfect. Perfect practice makes perfect"

Vincent Thomas "Vince" Lombardi
  • Options
    Can you elaborate? Was he looking for a different model of education with more in-class or actual instruction?
  • Options
    nelson8403nelson8403 Member Posts: 220 ■■■□□□□□□□