Curious about need of Comptia certs if you have AAS..no real job experience

IT-FNGIT-FNG Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, all! I stumbled across this forums just looking up all things IT and have read for a while and this is my first post. I am not employed in IT i used to work as a security officer in a hospital and always wanted to be in IT but didn't go to school or even try to apply as I thought i just wouldn't be qualified. I have a pretty rock solid understanding of the fundamentals of pc repair though i found out after taking a few courses at a local college when i was so far ahead of my peers on the A+ side of things. We learned right out of the comptia A+ book for desktop repair and desktop security(which was really just learning about CLI, registry, and the operating system side of things not sure why they called it security).

Basically after working with a few IT guys on the night shift at the hospital it inspired me to really go for it so i enrolled in a college here in my town where I live that pretty much everyone in the area goes to for IT unless they're programming then they go to the UW college system for computer sci.

Just for an idea of classes heres a program list : Course List for Network Systems Administration