CCDA - Failed (25 points shy)

mitchflossinmitchflossin Member Posts: 28 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey folks!

Just wanted to share my experience with everyone, and hopefully get some feedback as well.

I've read countless horror stories of folks failing this exam and speaking of how unfair it is. Seems like if there's 1 person that says it was pass-able, or even easy, there's 10 people claiming how ridiculously convoluted it is. Just so you have some background on my qualifications and experience, I've been in the networking field for a little over 4 years, I have a 2 yr degree in networking and my certs include: CCNA, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice and CCNP RS. I've also been studying for the CCNP Security.

I'll be honest, this exam humbled me. I thought I was going in prepared after reading everyone else's input and horror stories, but apparently I was wrong. I watched the CBT Nuggets videos and read the OCG and highlighted what I felt to be relevant material - 2 weeks prior to scheduling the exam. During these last 2 weeks, I've gone through the CBT Nuggets twice, re-read all the tables, exam topics and highlighted material. I don't even know how many hours of studying I put in these last 2 weeks.

Here's the bad part - I'm not sure what to do differently to pass. I read about people complaining about material that wasn't even in the OCG. I don't feel like I got any of those questions. I feel like I got the "easier" version of the test (if there is one). For the most part, I thought I KNEW all the answers. I would say there were a lot, maybe even half, of questions that were incredibly vague, or poorly written though.

So, what can I do differently to pass this? Everything on my score sheet was passing except a 78% and a 50% (routing protocols). I didn't even have any "hard" questions on routing protocols per se - nothing like OSPF LSAs, etc. I was really surprised to see the fail sign at the end.