I can't pass the A+. Should I try for Security+?

kisnerzakisnerza Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I tried to get my A+ recently, I failed the 801 my first time then passed the second time. I took my 802 for the first time last week and failed by 30 points. Since I was so close I decided to study that weekend and then retake it as soon as I could but I failed again except this time I did 100 points worse than the first time. I studied for about 3 months for my A+.

I thought the questions were so much harder than the first one and I really don't want to waste money on it because I am still in school and I don't have a lot of money. I really don't care about the A+, I just wanted it because I knew nothing about hardware and trouble shooting and I wanted to get a feel about how the certificate process worked.

I really only care about the security+. I've take a Networking class and a Network Security class in college and did very well in both. Because of this I feel that I would do slightly better for the Security+ than the A+ since I knew absolutely nothing about hardware before the A+.

I also want to work in the security field after I graduate in May so I have way more interest in the Security+ anyway. I know I should probably try to get my Network+ first but I know some people who went straight to Security+ and passed. Since I couldn't pass the A+ would I even have a chance at passing the Security +?

Comments

• scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Finish what you started. I failed many a cert test. Look at what you didn't do well on and focus on that.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • E Double UE Double U Member Posts: 2,228 ■■■■■■■■■■