Just passed 802- any questions or advice?

wangxjj123wangxjj123 Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello, I just came home from the testing center. I just passed the 802 and passed 801 earlier. The 802 that I took today has 77 total questions, 90 minutes. I have a degree in business but I wanted to switch a career in IT. Now that I'm A+ certified, I would like to begin my job search for any entry level desktop support/helpdesk, eventually I would like to become a network admin. Should I know focus on Network+ as my next certificate? Is security+ needed? Free free to ask any questions about the exam. Thank you all.:D

Comments

• stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Congratulations on attaining your A+ certification. That is a great achievement and I wish you continued success!

To answer your questions: I think it all depends on where you live and what the market wants. The CompTIA Triad, A+/Network+/Security+, are great if you are interested in IT but don't quite know what direction you want to go. If you have an idea of what you want to do, and it seems like you do, then going for a vendor certification might have a better ROI for you. In the US, the Network+ exam costs $277 while Cisco's CCENT and CCNA exams, combined, cost $300. Compared to the demand for a CCNA, Network+ doesn't even come close, in most markets at least. Naturally, the knowledge you would get studying for the Network+ is worthwhile but the CCNA knowledge will be much more in-depth and more employers appreciate it (even those without Cisco products in their network).

Good luck and let us know what you plan to study for next!
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • wangxjj123wangxjj123 Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□