SOC experience?

RemedympRemedymp Member Posts: 834 ■■■■□□□□□□
I accepted an offer to work in a SOC few months ago as a Network Security Analyst. I have several years of experience working on the End user client facing side of IT as an Analyst as well worked in Datacenter as a technician.

However, I have never experienced anything like the SOC before. Ego's tripping everywhere. Everyone has a chip on their shoulder, lack of mannerism, individual mindset (look at me,etc) rather than team focus. Antiquated tools and process to perform your duties. Every guy is a tough guy with their GIAC certs. The more GIAC certs, the worse the attitude becomes. Sarcasm about other roles of others in the SOC. Back biting of people they just got off of con call with or exchanged an email with.

I have never been in a more toxic environment before. Most of the people have never worked anywhere outside of the SOC. This is their first and only job in IT. So, they have pretty much mastered their job role to a point where it becomes like a fraternity or something to join in with them.

Has anyone else worked in a SOC here? Care to share your experience?

Comments

• guy9guy9 Banned Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Remedymp wrote: »
    I accepted an offer to work in a SOC few months ago as a Network Security Analyst. I have several years of experience working on the End user client facing side of IT as an Analyst as well worked in Datacenter as a technician.

However, I have never experienced anything like the SOC before. Ego's tripping everywhere. Everyone has a chip on their shoulder, lack of mannerism, individual mindset (look at me,etc) rather than team focus. Antiquated tools and process to perform your duties. Every guy is a tough guy with their GIAC certs. The more GIAC certs, the worse the attitude becomes. Sarcasm about other roles of others in the SOC. Back biting of people they just got off of con call with or exchanged an email with.