Options

MCSA 2008 or MCSA 2012

After the CCNA: R&S exam in a month I plan on picking up the MCSA track.

Which one is going to be better for me in the long run? - I plan on doing the MCSA 2008 then upgrading to MCSA 2012 then moving into MCSE: SI 2012. MY thought's 2008 exams build off previous exams and it will be a learning curve knowing the older commands lines but when I master them moving into MCSE: SI 2012 they should be easier? icon_wink.gif

Is this crazy talk or would 2012 be the better approach; bear in mind my current employers and my home-lab is licensed 2008 R2 with Technet keys before Technet went poof.

I attempted 70-640 4 years ago before I even got my A+ and failed it with a 340 (I know horrible - but I wasn't ready at all knowledge wise), and I do think now after 4 years my skillset are much better considering I've been a 3 forest with 2 domains per forest system administrator for the past 7 months and prior to that I was a 2008 R2 system administrator for 3 years. I recently just upgraded the employers network from 2000 Native to 2008 R2 and all of the servers to the 2008 R2 level.

Thoughts?

Comments

• Options
    alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I don't really see 2008 going away any time soon, and it's only one additional exam to get both MCSAs. That's the route I went. When I did the 70-417, I only needed one new VM in my 2008R2 environment to see the new bits in 2012/2012R2 and MS will give you a evaluation copy of 2012R2.

One thing to note though is if you do the Upgrade to 2012, you're getting 410/411/412 material, while if you do the 3 exam route, you get a few options for the third exam.

https://borntolearn.mslearn.net/b/weblog/archive/2014/09/15/electives-for-windows-server-2012-amp-sql-server-2012-mcsa-certifications-now-available
  • Options
    techfiendtechfiend Member Posts: 1,481 ■■■■□□□□□□