CISSP - Passed

storm8582storm8582 Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All

I have been studying for the CISSP for the last few months, as I used this site to help me prepare I thought it would be best to "do the right thing" and share my experience. My background is about 8 years in IT, 6 ish of those were security/admin/engineer/support focused. I also have a fair few certs behind me as well (CEH, CCNP, CCNA Sec, VCP, MCSA)

The good news is that I passed, the bad news is (for pre-test takers wanting re assurance) that this exam is “believe the hype” Hard, but for what I felt – all the wrong reasons. Don’t get me wrong, I have done hard certs before (the CCNP route nearly killed me!) but I always had the feeling in the exam that if I failed, it would be because I had not worked hard enough/was not intelligent enough for the exam, not through confusing questions. I cannot really say anything here that is not in loads of other posts, I always thought people were exaggerating TBH but indeed no, I felt it hard as well. Most of the “BEST, MOST, WORST” style questions of which there really are a lot of really were hard to understand. Often being reasonably strong technically went against you as I often had further questions to ask. This obviously was not possible so a crazy percentage was just a “best guess” – I never ever got in to a rhythm of things going well, seemed to be 2-3 okay one’s then a string of confusing one’s which really knocked my confidence. You really do have to take the exam to understand it, there should be some kind of CISSP support group for people who have done the exam. :)