IT Project Management - PMP vs Prince2 vs Project+ vs Agile

renacidorenacido Member Posts: 387 ■■■■□□□□□□
I'm an Infosec pro and as the team lead I'm the de facto PM for all security-related IT projects.

I have no aspirations to be a full-time PM, but a cert that signifies that I understand project/program management could surely make me a better candidate for management and consulting roles.

Along with that, each methodology has pros and cons. Most of my education and experience in PM is in the PMBOK, but having also studied ITIL, Prince2 has me curious. And since I'm only concerned with IT projects the Project+ and Agile methods might be a good fit as well.

Would anyone like to offer their opinions on which I should prioritize for my specific needs?

Comments

• N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    IMO one framework is more than enough. What you are looking for is to be able to speak and communicate like a PM, I think a hybrid of PMBOK/Prince2 and Agile would put you in a really good place.

If you are going to manage app dev folks then you want to almost exclusively learn Agile or Scrum/Extreme Programming.

However with infrastructure etc, the PMBOK/Prince2 could serve you well. For what you stated I think the PMP or Prince Practitioner would do the trick.

However if you go in for App Dev management jobs you'll get ran out of the interview if you start talking about the PMBOK. It just doesn't apply to app dev very well at all. In fact if you tried to manage an app dev team with the PMBOK it would be like pulling teeth and no one would respect you.
  • eSenpaieSenpai Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
    N2IT wrote: »
    IMO one framework is more than enough. What you are looking for is to be able to speak and communicate like a PM, I think a hybrid of PMBOK/Prince2 and Agile would put you in a really good place.

If you are going to manage app dev folks then you want to almost exclusively learn Agile or Scrum/Extreme Programming.