How difficult is to move from zero to a security role?

SeekBytesSeekBytes Member Posts: 143
Hello gents.

I am trying to talk with people that work in the industry, but it's not that simple. At the current stage I am studying for the CCNA Sec, and I discovered that I really like Security. I was also interested to other tracks like SP or DC, but with Security I was particularly concerned about the employability. I thought that at the current stage SP and DC could easily lead me to a job.

I wanted to ask what certs and what technologies I should try to master for interview and what makes the cv more round for any entry level job in Sec.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards.

Comments

• 636-555-3226636-555-3226 Member Posts: 975 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Certs aren't typically going to get you a security job. Security is a highly specialized field, and you generally need a very broad foundation in everything IT before finally stepping into security. That said, Security+ is the starting point most people (and I) recommend. After that, try to figure out where you want to go - general security administration/analyst (antivirus, hips, nips, siem, dlp, web gateways, email gateways, etc), developing/coding, forensics, management, audit, etc.
  • SeekBytesSeekBytes Member Posts: 143
    Hello 636-555-3226, thank you for answering.

I know that story about certs, but at the moment it's the only opportunity to study particular topics and get a recognition of my proficiency in each area. Of course if I will find any entry level job I will get it.

You said that I need to have a broad foundation before I can step in a field such Security. At the actual stage I only have a Comptia A+ and CCNA R/S. Currently studying for the CCNA/Sec. Apart the the Security+ do you advice me any certification track to build a better foundation?

Kind Regards.
  • BuhRockBuhRock Member Posts: 71 ■■□□□□□□□□