Options

packet tracer no ip routing command

meiguorenmeiguoren Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I'm studying for CCNA. I'm working through an INE lab that wants me to put in no ip routing but none of the routers I have in packet tracer work so I don't understand what to do next. I tried it on a 3560 switch that is in packet tracer and it worked there, but it wont work on any of the routers. Thanks.

From the lab:

Set the default-gateway on R2, R3, and R4. Because we are using routers as the hosts, we must disable "ip routing" first and set the default gateway accordingly.

R2:
no ip routing
!
ip default-gateway 100.1.1.1

R3:
no ip routing
!
ip default-gateway 200.1.1.1

R4:
no ip routing
!
ip default-gateway 200.1.1.1

Comments

• Options
    Ltat42aLtat42a Member Posts: 587 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Those commands work in a few routers (1841, 1941, 2811) in PT version 6.2. I'm not sure what INE uses to create their study labs (live equipment vs GNS3).

hth
  • Options
    Dr169Dr169 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    "no ip routing" only works for version 12.2(33) or later. See Cisco IOS IP Routing: Protocol-Independent Command Reference - IP Routing Protocol-Independent Commands: A through R [Support] - Cisco

The command works in Packet Tracer 6.2, but does not seem to work in a Cisco 2620 router with a simulated Version 12.2(2icon_cool.gif.
  • Options
    Ok, thanks everybody. I'm using PT 5.3 and was lucky to get that. INE will sell me lab time on their servers, for $4/hour. I guess I'll go back to my CCNA Lammle book and do his lab instead.
  • Options
    Dr169Dr169 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    GNS3 is a good alternative to packet tracer and works well for CCNA level studies.
  • Options