GNS3 or Packet Tracer for some CCNP Labs?

DrekkoDrekko Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys

Before you say, I need real equipment, I know I do, and I will try to get some, but I cannot be near the equipment all the time so I will probably have some spare at work

So my question is, is it possible to do "some" labs with GNS3 or packet tracer? And if I can do some, which program has more features ? If GNS3 has more features than packet tracer, I will just stick to GNS3 instead of installing both

I am doing the switching CCNP first

Comments

• devilsadvocatedevilsadvocate Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
    My understanding is the GNS3 will be fine for the ROUTE exam but PacketTracer is not good enough for the SWITCH due to its limited features.

I am currently studying for Switch and I have two 3560's.
  • DrekkoDrekko Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Is GNS3 better and have more switching features than Packet Tracer? I will try to get some hardware from work or buy them but, I wont be always near the hardware. Occasionally I will like to try and do some labs virtually when not at the hardware

So if I come to a lab when and want to try it when not at the hardware, should I try use GNS3 or packet tracer
  • MooseboostMooseboost Member Posts: 778 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Focus on GNS3 if you are going to go virtual for CCNP. Packet Tracer is missing too much.
  • SimridSimrid Member Posts: 327
    I would recommend using GNS3 for both route and switch. The reason for this is because you can purchase a 4 port NIC, a few swithes and use your switches within GNS3. It's a pretty neat way of managing the devices.
    Network Engineer | London, UK | Currently working on: CCIE Routing & Switching

sriddle.co.uk
    uk.linkedin.com/in/simonriddle
  • ph4ntom74ph4ntom74 Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Use GNS3 for both and you dont need physical devices even though IOU on GNS3 cant support many switch features.